Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News: IRA News

James Beard Awards Finalists Announced: 10 Nominees from Illinois

Wednesday, March 14, 2018  
Share |

This week, the James Beard Foundation announced the nominees for the 2018 James Beard Awards at Parc Restaurant in Philadelphia.

Sam Toia, IRA President & CEO, and Mary Kay Bonoma, IRA Executive Vice President Mary Kay Bonoma were present at the event. Clare Reichenbach, the new CEO of the James Beard Foundation, and David Whitaker, President & CEO of Choose Chicago, announced the nominees. The IRA and Choose Chicago are proud hosts of the 2018 James Beard Awards. 

The IRA could not be more proud of all of Illinois' talented chefs, restaurateurs, and industry professionals nominated for this year's James Beard Awards.
Best Chef Great Lakes (Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Ohio) 
Andrew Brochu, Roister
Abraham Conlon, Fat Rice
Beverly Kim and Johnny Clark, Parachute
David Posey and Anna Posey, Elske
Lee Wolen, Boka

Outstanding Baker 
Greg Wade, Publican Quality Bread

Outstanding Pastry Chef
Meg Galus, Boka

Outstanding Restaurateur
Kevin Boehm and Rob Katz, Boka Restaurant Group

Outstanding Service

Rising Star Chef of the Year
Sarah Rinkavage, Marisol

Television Segment
ABC Chicago's "The Hungry Hound" hosted by Steve Dolinsky

Best of luck to all our chefs and restaurateurs! The winners will be announced at the James Beard Awards Monday, May 7 in Chicago. 

Click here to read more from the Chicago Tribune. Click here to view the full list of nominees from the James Beard Foundation. 

Platinum Sponsors


Gold Sponsors


Silver Sponsors


      Quick Links

Hear From Us

Signup for email updates from the
Illinois Restaurant Association.

Contact Us

33 W. Monroe, Ste 250
Chicago, IL 60603
Toll Free: 800-572-1086
Ph: 312-787-4000
Fax: 312-787-4792


Follow Us

  • Copyright © 2018 Illinois Restaurant Association. All rights reserved.
Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal