GET CERTIFIED NOW. ENFORCEMENT BEGINS JANUARY 1, 2015.
USE DISCOUNT CODE EMPLOYEE20 FOR $12.00 PRICE.
As of JANUARY 1, 2015 Public Health Inspectors will begin enforcing the Illinois Food Handling Regulation Enforcement Act (410 ILCS 625), amended by SB1495 and passed into law on August 27, 2013, which requires Food Handler training in Illinois. If you work in a restaurant in Illinois and prepare, store, or serve food, handle food equipment, food utensils, or food-contact surfaces you must have a ANSI-accredited Food Handler certificate within 30 days of hire. This includes most restaurant jobs, including servers, chefs, head chefs, head cooks, cooks, bussers, bartenders, dishwashers, hosts, and hostesses who handle food and supervisors, such as the general manager or managers. Managers who already have a Food Service Sanitation Manager Certificate do not need a Food Handler certificate.
Workers receive a ServSafe Food Handler Certificate after taking a basic food safety training course and passing an exam with a score of 75 percent or better. Once you have a certificate, provide a copy to your employer to keep on file. Proof of training must be provided during health inspections.
ServSafe Food Handler Certificates are accepted everywhere in Illinois.
Go online at FoodHandlerUSA.com for the National Restaurant Association’s ServSafe Food Handler Program course and exam. It’s simple and affordable at $15. The registration and payment process is in English, but the course and assessment is available in English and Spanish. You need a major credit card to pay.
Get 20% off your online course. Now only $12. Enter code EMPLOYEE20. After passing the exam, you can download and print an electronic certificate immediately to provide to your employer.
Contact the ServSafe hotline with questions at 866.901.7778.
Frequently Asked Questions
1. WHO PAYS?
The law does not require employers to pay for an employee’s time and expense to take the training and test. The ServSafe Food Handler Certificate is the property of the employee, who can take it to another employer as long as the certificate is valid.
2. HOW LONG IS THE CERTIFICATE VALID?
Certificates are valid for three years from the date of issuance and are accepted everywhere in Illinois.
3. WHO ENFORCES THE LAW?
Local health departments enforce the law.
4. DO YOU HAVE ANY RESOURCES OR MATERIALS THAT RESTAURANT OPERATORS CAN DOWNLOAD AND PRINT FOR THEIR EMPLOYEES?
Yes, and we're posting more materials all the time. See below:
The National Restaurant Association has a Spanish-speaking customer service hotline for workers who have questions about the ServSafe Illinois Food Handler Program. Call 866.901.7778, or e-mail FoodHandler@restaurant.org.
Get 20% off your online course. Now only $12. Enter code EMPLOYEE20.
©2014 National Restaurant Association (NRAEF). All rights reserved. ServSafe® and the ServSafe logo are registered trademarks of the NRAEF. National Restaurant Association® and the arc design are trademarks of the National Restaurant Association.